Public Archaeology: resources

I have stumbled upon Public Archaeology by chance (or by fate). I was in 2012 TAG Conference in Liverpool and, as I was soon to discover, actually there were not too many theoretical papers (a thought shared by Jaime Almansa Sánchez here)- as a side note, I think that what this kind of theoretical events or sessions at major conferences need is a panel where the concept “theory” is defined. Anyway, to get back to my story, faced with 3 days of talks ahead of me, I had to choose a session to attend. Therefore, Public Archaeology sounded like the closest thing to theory, and that’s how it all started. Before that, I have never heard of this concept before, as it’s not a domain/topic present in my country’s academic community. Probably even after I have attended some of the papers I would not have been impressed if I would not have met a smart guy who made me curious. To cut things short, 1 year and something later I am part of the editorial team of a Public Archaeology journal, I have published a state of the art article for my colleagues, and I have this blog. I have yet to do some “real” public archaeology, but I guess it takes time to learn new things. However, realising that I have not dedicated any post to Public Archaeology yet, I decided to compile a list of resources that can guide somebody in this field.

To start with, there are a couple of important and representative journals, most of which are open access (after all, isn’t Public Archaeology about this after all?).

Journals

1. Public Archaeology Journal (edited by Tim Schadla-Hall and published by Maney Publishing). As their own description goes, the aim of this journal is to “provide an arena for the growing debate surrounding archaeological and heritage issues as they relate to the wider world of politics, ethics, government, social questions, education, management, economics and philosophy.”

2. Present Pasts Journal (journal of the UCL Institute of Archaeology Heritage Studies Section). You will find articles dedicated to Public Archaeology, along Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies. And, what’s most important, it is Open access.

3. AP: Online Journal in Public Archaeology (edited by JAS Arqueología). This is a great Open access resource, dedicated exclusively to Public Archaeology and to hot, relevant topics within the field. (check the website, and the blog)

4. Journal of Community Archaeology and Heritage (edited by Suzie Thomas, Carol McDavid, and Adam Gutteridge, and published by Maney Publishing). This upcoming brand new journal is dedicated exclusively to community archaeology, “intended for participants, volunteers, practitioners, and academics involved in the many projects and practices broadly defined as ‘community archaeology’.” Check their interesting blog, which hosts a series of community projects related posts here.

And than, there are a couple of blogs I follow:

Blogs

AP: Online Journal in Public Archaeology (if you care to contribute with opinions on relevant academic events, movies, comics etc.  the Reviews section is looking for your contributions)

Digital Public Archaeology – Lorna Richardson’s blog dedicated to the digital side of Archaeology

The Public Archaeology Group blog – “PAG is a workgroup that aims to gather professionals interested in Public Archaeology worldwide to facilitate the development of Public Archaeology”.

Public Archaeology – for spanish speakers.

And:

Centres

Centre for Audio-Visual Study and Practice in Archaeology (CASPAR) @ UCL Institute of Archaeology

The Centre for Applied Heritage Studies (CAHSt) @ The Univeristy of York, Department of Archaeology

Council for British Archaeology (Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Archaeologyuk).

This is meant just as a mere draft of useful resources, and I would greatly appreciate any suggestions regarding things which should be included.

 

Leave a Reply

