Emotional Objects: Conference Report

Emotional Objects: Conference Report.  (click the link for the full text- pretty interesting if I may say so!)

The Emotional Objects conference aimed to bring together scholars from a wide range of disciplines to discuss what historians can learn about emotions in history using material culture. Many of our speakers were curators, joining us from the V&A and Museum of Freemasonry in London, Norfolk Museums and Archaeology Service, National Museums Scotland, Den Gamle By in Denmark, and the Hirschsprung Collection in Copenhagen. We were thrilled to be able to unite scholars from across the world, who travelled from America, Australia, Canada, Finland, the Netherlands and Russia to participate in the conference….The conference opened with a keynote by John Styles, who began our discussion of emotional objects using Proust’s evocative description of the madeleine in Á La Recherche du Temps Perdu:

I raised to my lips a spoonful of the tea in which I had soaked a morsel of the cake…this new sensation having had on me the effect which love has of filling me with a precious essence; or rather this essence was not in me, it was myself. I had ceased now to feel mediocre, accidental, mortal” (http://emotionsblog.history.qmul.ac.uk/?p=3008)

Leave a Reply

