Witty tattoos (some inspiration for science writing)

My very first blog post was on tattoos. I remember it stirred some reaction among some friends who thought I was dismissing personal stories when it came to getting a tattoo, and I was instead focusing too much on “tattooing as a cultural phenomena”. Since then I have written a couple more posts on tattoos, from nerdy designs to historic or very recent ones. 60 posts and 7 months later I decided to write a different kind of post – on inspirational tattoos. Writing a scientific article isn’t any different from writing literature: each and every time I need to get some fresh inspiration, that would help me structure, re-structure and create my topic. Especially when one studies the human body, (from a cultural perspective) meaning is created through so many networks, that the endeavour starts looking like piecing together  a never ending multi-dimensional puzzle, one that re-creates itself as you move along.

In this process in which words, thoughts and images need to work together towards transmitting a certain message (and a subsequent feel, emotion, attitude), some tattoos might be a source of inspiration (literal or metaphoric) as good as any other, especially the creative and witty examples I am about to share.

1. The collage: anatomy meets geometry, mechanics and colour

2. Telling a story through the use of the body, lines, planes and text

3. Connecting the dots/fragments to get the big picture

a.

b.

4. Giving life to a form just through the use of lines

I guess these examples bring back the meaning in the expression “embodying knowledge” 🙂

Leave a Reply

